Love Letter to an Entrepreneur

Webster defines “entrepreneur” as :  one who organizes, manages, and assumes the risks of a business or enterprise.

Dear Entrepreneur,

I want you to succeed. I want your business to grow. I want you to get real about what it takes.  Faint hearted and lily-livered need not apply. This is a constantly-changing environment, and if you want to succeed (why else would you have started a business anyway??) you have to at least stay with the curve. There is too much at stake. That which worked for you 2 years ago will not work today; its time to get creative, out of the box, leading-edge, innovative.

Focus on your customer. They don’t need to know your personal struggles, they’re there to make a purchase. Keep it professional, give them a pleasant experience, that will lead to more business.

Stay away from the “I don’ts”.

I don’t know how ( there are a plethora of available resources!).

I don’t have time (if it’s worth it, make time!).

I don’t remember (take notes!).

You didn’t go into business for yourself expecting it to be a breeze..I hope. This takes sweat, tears, anad maybe some blood, but you have what it takes to make it work. Not everybody has the cojones to dive into entrepreneurship, you are among a small group of crazy people. Welcome!

I’d be remiss of my duties if I negelcted to mention planning: business planning. Those that fail to plan, plan to fail. Enough said.

Go Forth and Prosper!!!!

Days that are so long that they run into nights that run into days.  Let’s be real, entrepreneurship is

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

